Don Diablo Releases ‘Future’ Album

Don Diablo Project

The new ‘Future’ LP has been a long work in progress. As the face of future-house, Don Diablo’s new album expresses his artistic abilities. Focusing on his life endeavors, the sixteen tracks reveal love, acceptance and pride, and heartbreak challenges he has overcome. The project is full of original songs including several collaborations with inspiring artists.

Don Diablo

The Process

Don Diablo had a message to his fans about the journey of perfecting ‘Future’:

These last few years have been quite a journey for me on all levels. I had to fight many demons on a personal level and rediscovered myself as an artist in the process. I never thought I would end up where I am today. But on my journey I have learned and experienced many things that I have (subconsciously) used while working on this album. FUTURE features sixteen tracks that all have their own story, both musically as well as lyrically.

I wanted this to be a motivational record that sonically showcases new ideas on a productional level, ranging from Future House to Future Pop and everything in between. I feel blessed to have worked with some of the most incredible new voices out there like James Newman, Nina Nesbitt, Betty Who, Calum Scott and many others. To me they represent the FUTURE and their talent is a very important part of this album. Besides this I also provided my own vocals to three of the songs on FUTURE, which definitely makes this album one of the most personal things I have done in a long time.

After releasing many singles and remixes these last few years it feels amazing to finally be able to present a real body of work to my fans (and hopefully FUTURE fans) again. Having said that…I am as inspired as I have ever been so the next album will definitely not take another six to ten years.


“Back To Us” featuring Mike Waters kicks-off the album with an introduction to love and heartbreak. Setting the mood, the album leads into his fifth single “Everybody’s Somebody” featuring Bullysongs. It reflects on hope and acceptance, as Diablo explains:

I have been getting so many letters from fans that literally feel lost in this world. When they tell me my music gives them comfort and shines a light in a dark tunnel inside their head it literally makes everything I do worth while. Sometimes it feels like the outside world wants you to act a certain way and look a certain way. This can put a lot of pressure on your shoulders. Others may appear to be better looking and more successful, which can create dark clouds in your head.

This single is an anthem for those who are searching for their identity. The statement is simple: everybody’s somebody, nobody’s nobody. Life is not about what others expect you to be, or what you feel you might never achieve. It’s about accepting who YOU truly are and being proud of your own personal achievements.


“Put It On Me” features the affectionate Nina Nesbitt, and is a track full of deep-style harmony. Britain’s Got Talent contestant Calum Scott also collaborates on the song “Give Me Love”. Along with Jasmine Thomson as a co-writer, Diablo teams up with Australian singer Betty Who to add dynamic vocals for “Higher”. Another great collaboration leads into “Take Her Place” featuring ARIZONA. “Heads Up featuring James Newman adds to the emotional album as an uplifting single.

After taking twenty-five different versions for Diablo to decide on the final track, “Bright Skies (The Bit U Know)” features flawless vocals from Miles Graham. A hook where classic-house mixes with 90s-vibes, “Found You” featuring BullySongs resembles some of his original talents. “Reflections” is a track Diablo turned into his own by reflecting upon and producing unique sounds.

“You Can’t Change Me” has sonic beats made for the dance floor. His first official album track “Don’t Let Go” featuring Holly Winter emphasizes a huge leap into future-house. The only cover on the LP “Killer” is a collaboration with singer/songwriter Dave Thomas Junior. To add a trap-inspired track to the album, he includes “People Say” featuring Paije’s soaring vocals.

Just moments after losing somebody important in his life, Diablo had written the touching track “Satellites”. It is full of raw emotion created on a personal and intimate level. “Echoes” closes the beautiful album, which was written originally as the title song for a science-fiction film. This edit is also a special version of what is arguably the purest Don Diablo record on the album.





Check out more releases on OneEDM.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *